Home / Sports / Two new champions in The Trusts New Zealand Bowls Open

Two new champions in The Trusts New Zealand Bowls Open


Nelson Bay’s Richard Girvan is the 2015 Men’s Singles Champion at The Trusts New Zealand Open beating Waiheke’s Scott Cottrell 21-12 after a titanic struggle, while Papakura’s Natarsha Grimshaw downed Reen Stratford of Aramaho, by the identical score 21-12.

While the scoreline was identical, the men’s final was a much more tightly contested struggle that, for a long time, could have gone either way. Meanwhile Natarsha Grimshaw had scored 10 unanswered points by the 7th end and while Reen Stratford got back to 6-10 after 9, her opponent then finished the match going away.

It was a winning tournament for Grimshaw whose composite triples beat Blockhouse Bay 18 -15 for the Aero Bowls Womens Triples title.

Scott Cottrell had the reverse fortune when he and his Browns Bay companions went down 13-11 to Hillcrest, in the Aero Bowls Mens’ Triple final.

Young-guns Taylor Horn (Thames Valley) and Jessie Russell (Waikato) beat Riverhead’s Duane McDonald and David Ross 17-10 to take the Ryman Healthcare Men’s Pairs Title. Lauren Mills and Caroline Downs (Kensington) beat Karen de Jongh and Bev Crowe (Carlton Cornwall) 18-7 to take the Ryman Healthcare
Women’s Pairs.

Norm Earnshaw and Dave Stallard were the star performers in the disabled pairs and triples. In the pairs they beat Sue Curren and Don Clark and then teamed up Chris Matthews to beat Mark Mitchell, Sally Engi, Linda Bennett in the Triples.

The tournament was played at both the Henderson Bowling Club and the Blockhouse Bay Bowling Club.