Our People
Home / Our People

Simon Wickham - CEO

Simon Wickham

Simon’s experience in leadership spans many years. His past roles include CEO of The Trusts Stadium and Yachting NZ. Simon was appointed as The Trusts’ CEO in 2011. The role brought together his experience in managing a commercial business with community stakeholders. Overseeing a team of more than 400 across 40 businesses owned by The Trusts, Simon has been instrumental in our current transformation. Outside of work, Simon has a strong passion for sports. He is currently Deputy Chairman of the NZ Olympic Committee and a Selector for the Rio Paralympic Games.


Matt Williams
People & Culture Manager

Matt Williams will join The Trusts as People and Culture Manager on May 22 2017.

Matt brings a sound background in retail and hospitality having worked in people and culture roles for Noel Leeming Group (owned by The Warehouse Group) and SKYCity Group.  His skills and experience, particularly in the learning and development area, are aligned to The Trusts goal of creating teams of high performing, engaged teams led by competent leaders in every store and venue who in turn deliver great experiences for our customers.

Mark Clayton - Retail Operations Manager

Mark Clayton
General Manager Retail

As our General Manager of Retail, Mark leads our team of highly skilled retail managers across our 22 stores. Mark has been fundamental in the transformation of older shops into the industry leading West Liquor stores.  Mark has extensive experience in retailing having previously been the Retail Operations Manager for Liquorland and a Franchisee owner of Dymocks previous to that.

Marie Weaver - Group Financial Controller

Marie Weaver
Chief Financial Officer

Marie has a wealth of financial experience across many sectors and is well known for her role in transforming teams from traditional financial roles to business support/ analysis and integrating sound financial practices and thinking into the wider organisations she has worked for. Her career spans the consulting accounting, retail, aged care and telecommunications

Angela Butler Marketing Manager

Angela Hurst
Marketing Manager

Angela has specialised in retail marketing for over a decade with such companies as DFS Duty Free, Liquorland, Farmers and Pharmacybrands. Highly customer focussed, she has strong skills in brand, loyalty and direct marketing, and takes a holistic approach to maximising products and promotions.

John Darroch - Purchasing & Distribution Manager

John Darroch
Procurement Manager

John has worked in a number of roles within The Trusts for over 17 years, eventually moving into the position of Purchasing & Distribution manager. John is responsible for all liquor procurement and overseeing the supply chain into all retail and hospitality sites.

Guy Randall

Guy Randall
General Manager Hospitality

Guy is an  experienced and successful Hospitality Executive with a high level of commercial acumen gained from 14 years in management roles. He brings a wealth of experience in creating businesses, reorganizing distressed businesses and leading operations teams to The Trusts hospitality team.


Richard Czarniecki 
Multi Venue Manager

Richard has built over 20 years experience in modern hospitality operations. Richard has a proven track record at both The Hangar Bar and Black Salt Bar & Eatery, of developing our own people into hospitality leaders. He is focused on customer service excellence, and has a very clear understanding of the current strengths and weaknesses of our hospitality businesses.

Lee Clark - Executive Assistant - Copy

Lee Clark
Executive Assistant

Lee has had over 30 years in secretarial positions and has been with The Trusts for nearly 10 years. She is the first point of contact for the Chief Executive and assists The Trusts Executive Team as required. Her role also involves liaising with Trustees, our Board of Directors and community organisations. Lee has an extreme eye for detail and never leaves a  ”t” uncrossed or an “i” undotted.

Brian Corban WATS Chairman

Brian Corban CNZM, QSO
WATS Chairman


Tim Livingstone MNZM
WATS Deputy Chairman

Campbell Barbour WATS Dir

Campbell Barbour
WATS Director

Andrew Bonner WATS Dir

Andrew Bonner
WATS Director

Dianne McAteer WATS Dir

Dianne McAteer
WATS Director


Penny Hulse
Elected Member Director

Lynnette Adams

Lynette Adams
Elected Member Director


Sandra Coney QSO
Elected Member Director

Neil Henderson

Neil Henderson
Elected Member Director