Home / Events / 13 new ‘Don Oliver’ scholars

13 new ‘Don Oliver’ scholars


The Don Oliver Youth Sport Foundation awarded scholarships to 13 outstanding young West Auckland sports people, at its awards dinner in July, and looked forward to as many as nine past and present scholars representing New Zealand at the Glasgow Commonwealth Games 2014.

The scholars are all West Aucklanders aged between 14 and 21. They are chosen by an independent panel of experts: Simon Wickham (CEO of The Trusts and deputy chairman of the New Zealand Olympic Committee), chairman; Ross Dallow, a top sports administrator and international coach and; Silver Ferns selector Gael Nagaiya.

The scholars receive a grant, membership at Arena Fitness and mentoring.

The scholars included one world champion in Tyla Nat han-Wong, who received the only Gold Scholarship. A member of the world champion women’s rugby sevens team, Tyla (right) received her scholarship for Touch in which she also wears the Silver Fern.

The Silver Scholarships:
Benedict Chong Wong – Shot put; Lewis Hollows – Rowing; Michael Mincham – Swimming; Elliot Paerata Reid – Surfing; and Danielle Sutherland – Hockey.

Bronze Scholarships:
Elizabeth Cul – Diving; Thomas Kingsmill – Waterpolo; Taylor Matthews – Javelin; Daniel Mettam – Motorcycle Racing; Brahm Richards – Wrestling; Adel Van der Walt – Judo; and Logan van Gils – Judo.

Foundation Chairman Dai Bindoff said there could be up to a record nine scholars, five past scholars and four from the “Class of 2013/14”, in the New Zealand team in Glasgow next year.

Photography by Steve at Auckland Sports Photography